Do you ever feel like you were born too early for the whole eSports thing?

When I was a student I would have never imagined getting a scholarship for being competitive at eSports.

I know those players are talented. But man, had that been a thing when I was in high school I would have probably invested a ton of time into it instead of the sports I actually played.

In some ways, I’m glad it wasn’t a thing yet because I was able to become a somewhat good athlete. And chances are, I never would have gotten far as an eSports competitor considering how wide a pool that it draws from.

But occasionally, I wonder, would I have been at all good if I were just 15 years younger? It’s an amusing thing to witness after my parents told me for so long that my video games were a “waste of time” lol.

Would’ve just told them “okay boomer” back then had I known how things would evolve.

4 Likes

Esports is a load of bollocks. None of those guys look like normal gamers at all. Plus they’re only great at one or two games. A true gamer can play hundreds of different games well.
Also, I think your title should be “Do you think you were born too early for Esports?”

Guess I played competitive Counter Strike online in like 1999? It just didn’t go anywhere and was just for fun. One guy at my college went to a LAN and won something, but it was like a $100 prize lol.

I also played Street Fighter III with some guys who played in a couple of tournaments around 2001. But again, you won like a trophy only.

Lol, serves me right for posting random thoughts half asleep.

I was the best SSBM player on my campus. But the pros would have destroyed me.

I imagine those players are probably at least as good as the typical gamer in any game not their “main” game.

I’m 41 now, but I was still a competitive player in the early days of eSport.

I used to play in Quake 2 and Quake 3 tournaments back when they were popular, and even won a few nice prizes.