The greatest game ever made, Super Metroid, is THIRTY years old

Here is the best article about why it is so great

Japanese commercial

Western commercial

And how this fact makes me feel

5 Likes

Truly the goat. An unbeatable masterpiece.

3 Likes

I’ve never played it, but I will read the 45 minute analysis article!

no way! honestly greatest game ever made is not even really exaggerating

4 Likes

I was a freshman in high school. Ordered it via the mail from one of those stores in the back of a magazine so I would be sure to have it as soon as it was available.

2 Likes

it’s no rolling thunder 2, but it ain’t bad

honestly, as a kid who tag-teamed metroid on a series of NES rentals in the day (took like half a notebook with our passwords!), the evolution the series saw was absolutely tremendous, and i say that having loved metroid

the feeling of each new zone is this feeling of excitement (ambiance/music etc) and unique isolation. the creatures and barriers are oppressive, but the hype of a new ability, the mental notes for backtracking later if & when you could reach a thing - just this incredible mix of pick-up-and-play, but proto AAA design and sometimes minimal but emotional storytelling

as a sega kid, i definitely enjoy knocking the retro nintendo worship down a peg sometimes (it’s not that the oft-named titles don’t deserve their flowers, its that it’s done at such disproportionate levels compared to sega, nec/hudson, snk and the like), but super metroid is this one that filthy casuals & hardcore game enjoyers alike decided to put on a pedestal years ago, and there’s so little negative to say about it that i really don’t mind seeing it there. it’s just such a great game

unlike overrated stuff like donkey kong country, for example :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

3 Likes