Is Layer Section/Galactic Attack considered the greatest Shmup of all time? Genuinely asking here. What other Shmups do I need to play?

So, I’m still fairly new to the genre, and the only Shmups I can recall playing for any noteworthy length of time are:

Layer Section
Ikaruga
Border Down
Gradius
R-Type
R-Type III
Pulstar
Bangai-O (if that counts)
Parodius
Mars Matrix
Abadox
Recca
Galaga
Gyruss
Twinbee
Fantasy Zone
Geometry Wars (if that counts)
Android Assault Cactus (if that counts)
And run-n-gun games like Contra and Metal Slug (which I consider to be a different genre, at least for this discussion)

And to me, Layer Section stands apart quite distinctly. It’s so damn good! Something about its simple scoring system, lack of “bullet hellishness”, but still significantly challenging gameplay makes me really addicted to it.

It’s the only game I can recall in the genre that I continue to replay over and over in one sitting after getting a game over and running out of continues. In fact, it may be the only arcade-style game in the last 10 years or so to make me do that.

The music, graphics, and overall enemy placement/level design is all top notch. And the bosses are perfectly balanced and interesting too.

What other Shmups do people think are as good as this one? I’m genuinely asking here.

Are there other Shmups that give this one a run for its money?

2 Likes

play some Seibu Kaihatsu stuff. I too am not all about that bullet hell, and the Raiden games pretty much got me into shmups. If you have a 360 pick up Raiden Fighters Aces.

I would recommend Sturmwind for the Dreamcast.

Musha is my all time favorite. Also Space Megaforce SNES and Blazing Lasers on the Turbo. All pricey but worth a play through

Layer Section is great, but I think there are a LOT of shooters that you would find are better or equivalent.

It sounds like you want things that aren’t bullet hell so I would recommend these…

Genesis
Thunder Force III
LIghtening Force
Gaiares
Truxton