Console mod thread

I didn’t see a thread like this, so considering it is my current obsession, I thought I would start one.

Let’s talk about modding our retro consoles.

I know of three reasons to mod them; one is to produce RGB output for optimum viewing (see the RGB thread), another is to allow your console to play other regions’ games, as well as game backups. Finally, one is to change how the console plays the game, such as the Saturn SD card mod.

I will admit, I am not an expert on any of these. All my information comes from other’s work, such as retrorgb.com, or the My Life in Gaming webseries.

My plan for ths thread was just a gathering spot where people can talk about their mods, ask for advice, show off their soldering skills, and generally see how well we can rip off Voultar’s ideas (kidding).

1 Like

I want to know where I can procure modchips for old systems.

Oh, and this is, indeed, a great idea for a thread.

1 Like

I as well would like to know.

Has anyone used https://www.mod-chip.net/ ?

Good idea for a thread.

I wanted to know if the newer N64 RGB board from the NESRGB guy is worth it over the older mod. It’s considerably more expensive but it does have that deblur effect as well.

Ah that would be interesting.

What about physical mods? I don’t mean those horrific custom paint jobs, but replacement cases etc.

There have even been official mods by manufacturers, mostly Sega.

Eg the
http://segaretro.org/JC-100
More info here

Or the official Dreamcast replacement top shells:

I also typically mod my Japanese consoles with 240V power supplies if they’re internal.

1 Like

Nice link to your blog there D.Lo! The only danger I saw in your mod is that the cable has no “stopper” if you jerk the cable in any way, pulling hard on the insides. I guess you could just make a knot on the cable or something if you’re afraid of it happening.