Panzer Dragoon Saga - First time playing the Saturn’s masterpiece

After years of wanting to play it coupled with the likelihood we aren’t getting a Sega Ages style remaster anytime soon and setting aside a few other purchases for later, I was finally able to get a copy of Panzer Dragoon Saga. The dealer actually came down on the price a bit and everything is in near mint condition.

I started playing the game yesterday and it’s amazing so far, I just wish I’d known that having a Panzer Zwei II save file on your Saturn before you start Saga unlocks a bonus item in the game later (but based on what I read it’s just a “lullaby” style music track from Zwei which plays at your campsite so not a big deal I guess?) I don’t currently own Zwei anyways so oh well, Zwei and Panzer 1 are next on my list. Will be great to have all three on my shelf eventually along with my copy of Orta and maybe a copy of Panzer Mini for Game Gear if I ever find a copy.

Anyways, I’m a few hours in and the game’s atmosphere, music and world building so far are all just incredible. The battles are fun and not frustrating at all, I like the ability to switch between the dragon’s lock on and Edge’s gun and experimenting with regular attacks and Betserk abilities. The encounter rate also isn’t bad and gives you just enough time to relax, breathe and take in all the wonder and little details and scenery of the levels. Please let me know if there is anything I should know about the game before I dig deeper or any advice that will help me enjoy the game’s incredible world even more.

5 Likes

Congrats. One of my last grails and I don’t even want to look up the going price right now.

1 Like

My advice would be take your time and explore every corner of every map. It’s not a long game, but it’s so much fun to explore the world. Amazing game in every aspect.

1 Like