I just bought a Mega CD for the first time... game recommendations?

Title is pretty self-explanatory. I’ve never even seen one in person before, they’re so rare to see here. I won an auction last night for a Mega Drive 2 with a Mega CD 2.

It comes with Road Avengers, but I have very little knowledge of what’s good on this system/add-on. I want to get Sonic CD just for fun, but what else would RGB recommend?

1 Like

Taking price completely out of the equation, some of the best games are Popful Mail, Snatcher, both Lunar games, Shining Force CD, Dark Wizard, Vay ONLY with the patch that fixes the balancing hackjob that WD did, Robo Aleste…

A lot of these games are extremely expensive now though.

1 Like

Sol Feace, Sonic CD, Final Fight CD, Silpheed, Mansion of Hidden Souls and Cliffhanger are good games.

1 Like

To add on to Aeana’s list, these are some of the other games I have/want/are good on the system.

Android Assault - Good shoot em up with a transforming robot
Heart of the Alien - This is “Out of this World” 1 and 2.
Keio Flying Squadron - Good, super expensive, cute em up
Lords of Thunder - Another good shoot em up that is pretty easy and has multiple ships/power ups
Missadventures of Flink - Really nice looking side scrolling adventure game.
Soul Star - Another shooter…from core this time. Aeana took up most of the other standouts

Then there are some games that are available on multiple systems that you may already have, but are good on the Sega CD. Guess Lords of Thunder counts as this as well. Stuff like Ecco the Dolphin, Earthworm Jim, Mickey Mania, Final Fight, and Streets of Rage. Some may be improved ports.

Then there are a few games that are “decent enough” but nothing special. Like the Terminator game or Batman Returns.

Prepare your wallet.

1 Like

Whoa Popful Mail looks awesome! But damn that price skyrocketed.

1 Like