New here: Can I have a history lesson?

I’m new to collecting retro stuff, and as such I’m also new to retro forums. In Dec 2017, I pulled out some old retro consoles that I had kept since I was a kid (Master System, GameBoy Advance, Game Gear, Original XBOX, GameCube), and made the decision to actively collect some other stuff. I found a good CRT on kijiji and set myself up a nice little retro area in my basement, and hit the ground running!

This is literally the first retro forum I felt was a good fit for me, and I signed up immediately. I later learned that the forum is just over 100 days old, and the vets here talk about the old forums and how bad they were.

What’s the history? What was the reason for the closure or the mass exodus from the old site?

Can I have a history lesson?

Thanks!

1 Like

You can search more if you want to.

The article that Fuzzy posted is a good recap. To provide a bit more context: Peltz, the creator of Retro Game Boards, along with myself, the other mods, and many of the users of RGB were all regular posters in many of the Retro themed threads on NeoGAF. For myself, and many others, it was these threads, plus maybe a few other community based threads, that kept us coming back to that forum.

When everything happened as described in the article linked above, a bunch of us wanted to keep the spirit alive of those Retro themed discussion threads, and Retro Game Boards was born. We;re not the only board that sprang out of NeoGAF, and many articles you’ll find have more information about ResetERA and other communities that sprang up. However, I feel RGB serves the needs of our little “RetroGAF” community really well, and we’re happy to see new members like yourself joining the fold!