Help with GBI & Action Replay disc

So I ordered the AR disc and memory card adaptor from Daltel in order to try to use GBI on my Cube.

I’ve booted it up and I get an error message in a red box saying: The disc could not be read.

Is the disc fucked? It’s reading other games. Unfortunately, I ordered this several months ago when I was quite busy and am only just not getting around to testing it. I think there’s a 90 day warranty and I doubt I can send it back. Anyone else use GBI here?

This is why I don’t fuck with homebrew and off-brand shit. It just never, ever works for me. I’m a tech moron and I also have bad luck.

Pics? Correct region?

I’ve had a few Datel discs over the years and never had an issue.

I’ve read about people having problems with the memory card/SD reader (still using mine just fine), but this is new to me.
I can’t remember now… Are these AR discs region free?

I have two GameCubes and I can tell you a trick I’ve learned. Always boot to the menu with that. 1 console is picky and the other not so much.

On my tricky console I leave the tray open when booting and I navigate to the menu. Oddly sometimes my wave bird won’t work unless I do the same thing.

Yeah I’ve seen that work too

I did try the menu, but there might be other variables like the open tray. I’ll try again and post some pic. It’s the correct region disc - says “For US consoles” on the label.

Any excuse to go through the GC menu is a good one. Probably still one of my favourites of all time!

It’s a real shame it’s not working @Radarscope1 but I have faith in you. Freeloaders I’ve never had any issues with but the AR can be a bit finicky. I use a XenoGC these days but I do remember having more luck going into the menu with the lid open and going from there.

Here’s what I’m seeing, and the disc I’m using.

do you have a friend with one you can check to see if its your aging laser or your disc?

Yea there’s really no trick to this. That’s either a bad disk or a bad laser.